2017

As I write this, I’m on a train home from a 9-hour shift at the store. It’s the second day of 2017 and I’m feeling distinctly non-reflective, but… I don’t know. I feel like this moment needs capturing. Many moments need capturing, but I always choose living them over pausing to snap a photo, scribble a line down, or record some video. Or something.

 

Right now I’m listening to 24K Magic by Bruno Mars, and I’m afraid of what the future might bring.

 

2016 brought about so many challenges and so much growth, but still it doesn’t compare to 2014. I keep comparing every year to that one. I wonder if I’ll ever be satisfied. Maybe I should stop. (I can’t. It’s compulsive.) But I’m thankful for what 2016 showed me – that family always comes first, that true friends will show themselves and prove their worth, and that the best things are found when you’re not searching.

 

Tomorrow marks the beginning of my last month as a 20-year-old. Age is just a number, and yet it makes me a little emotional. I’m not quite ready for 2017, but as Anaïs Nin once said, “Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.”

 

I’ll be strong, and I’ll try.

Published by

quirkyteal

writer/stylist/dreamer sophomore | lasalle college of the arts

2 thoughts on “2017”

Let's Talk!

