Harry Potter

I finally got around to watching the Harry Potter movies!

I read the books earlier this year, after realising that even though I knew of the characters thanks to Tumblr, I’ve never actually experienced the magic for myself, whether through the books or the films. So, I bought myself the books from BookDepository – a special edition paperback box set with the book spines showing a beautiful illustration of Hogwarts – and raced through them within a month or two, I think.

I first stumbled upon Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in the school library, probably when I was 10 or 11. I tried reading it, but (and I remember this vividly) the descriptions, though detailed, tired me out too much and I found it too slow-moving for my liking. I dropped the book and moved on.

Fast-forward to present day me, a bonafide Harry Potter fan. My friends (#nomoreexams) and I have our own wands, I have all the books, I’ve watched all the movies, and I have a newfound appreciation for books and reading.

I have to talk about the films. I knew, going in, that they wouldn’t be able to distill everything from the books into the films. But I was still disappointed! I suppose it’s unavoidable. I felt such a loss, though, when I realised just how much they cut out from the Battle of Hogwarts and the stories surrounding it. There was so much emotion, both positive and negative, that made the Battle and all the loss of lives so much richer and poignant in the books.

I totally understand – it’s impossible to incorporate all the storylines in the films, it’s way too convoluted and too easy to get lost – but that doesn’t stop me feeling such a deep sense of sadness that so many characters weren’t fleshed out and realised fully.

On the other hand, it was such an experience seeing the places I’d imagined while reading the books come to life on-screen. I can’t say for sure if it’s a good or bad experience – just that it was interesting. A lot of things were different, but at the same time, I think they did a good job in capturing the vibe and emotions of the books with the constraints of, well, a non-magical world.

Header image by florentllamas on DeviantArt.

x

Let's Talk!

