a music review of the spontaneous sort

Basically I’ve been ambushed.

So I guess this is a collection of my first reactions to my dear friend Jon Chan‘s debut single!!1!

I DID NOT KNOW THAT WAS GOING TO APPEAR

I WAS LISTENING TO FOB

OMG

OMGOMGOMG

IT’S AMAZING

such clarity

such enunciation

I cannot get over the beginning

reminds me of falling down the rabbit hole

INTO WONDERLAND

so lush

it’s so folky

that banjo is like… the lifeforce of the entire song

I still cannot get over the beginning

it’s so dissonant and jarring but somehow I like it

it’s like HI I AM HERE LISTEN TO ME AND BE BEWITCHED

it’s so sad

don’t be sad jon don’t be sad

the lyrics bring me back to a place I don’t really want to be but it’s also kinda hopeful and it’s a very specific memory

like colouring my own memories with your sheen

how do you do this jon

how do you pull memories and make people remember stuff

teACH ME SENPAI

the juxtaposition of the sadness and the sun imagery does weird things to my lungs

minor note but I love how the end time is 3:33:818

very pretty

I’ve said this somewhere before but

your music along with charlie lim’s and mayer make me feel like I’m in a bubble of warm pillows in semi-gravity that smells like cookies and milk and sweet dreams and solitude

I like how there are lots of little details that like the more you listen to it the more of them you notice

it makes my head hurt but in a good way or maybe I’ve just been studying too much (lol no such thing)

THAT HIGH NOTE sounds like such a desperate cry

this song makes me sad in a happy way

would you hate me if I said I like the video version a lil bit more HAHAHAH

aiyah it’s just a first version kinda attachment

the stylistic similarities/ signatures between this and Gold are evident

 

You can buy Jawn’s single here!

 

x

Published by

quirkyteal

writer/stylist/dreamer sophomore | lasalle college of the arts

Let's Talk!

