Stream of Consciousness

it’s always disconcerting when someone says “oh hey, I read that thing that you wrote”

 

because I panic and I wonder what on earth he could say next

 

that he hated it?

 

that he thought it was wrong?

 

that he found a typo?

 

“are your writings autobiographical or fiction? or a little bit of both?”

 

an actual question. I know not what to say.

 

A tells me not to worry so much. “people will have their own thoughts.”

 

“just let it go once you’ve put it up. let go. relax. breathe.”

 

I go to watch someone perform. I run into B and he tells me “I wish you could’ve stayed longer.”

 

why?

 

“maybe we could’ve talked.”

 

maybe.

 

we go to get pizza, B and I, and we sit on the chairs of a closed café. we eat and talk, and take a cab home because we live near each other. in the cab he tells me, “I wish you could’ve stayed longer.”

 

why?

 

“being with you makes me forget about myself.”

Let's Talk!

