The Breakfast Club

My alarm rings at 9.15AM – time to get up, way earlier than usual, to meet some of the #yolosquad for breakfast!

 

Our initial crew consisted of 5 – Si En, Joshua Taylor, JJJ, Andrea, and I – but Si En only woke up when we’d already ordered. I bet from the time we met at Mountbatten that she was still asleep.

 

We went to Café Melba – a cozy nook in Goodman Arts Centre about a 10-minute walk from Mountbatten MRT station. It has a combination of wood and metal construction that I absolutely love.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

 

Only JJJ and I were really hungry; Andrea and Taylor had the Pizza Bread Basket. JJJ ordered Steak, Egg and Chips while I had Free Range Eggs Benedict.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

This is my first time having Eggs Benedict out and it’s pretty good, albeit a little rich. It consisted of poached eggs, toasted english muffins, roasted cherry vine tomatoes, lemon hollandaise sauce and smoked salmon. There was a choice to switch the bacon for either parma ham or salmon, and I chose the latter. I think it was a good choice, although the salmon was a little too salty for my palate! The tomatoes were juicy and still crunchy, but I didn’t eat much of the lettuce – it was bitter and quite horrible. I guess I kind of get the hype about having Eggs Benedict at cafés and such, but I probably wouldn’t order it again.It’s nice for a treat every once in a while, as it’s expensive and the flavours are all too overpowering. I’d take my scrambled eggs and toast any day.

 

I stole some of the Pizza Bread Basket and it was really good! It came with 3 sauces (home-made dips, according to the menu), and we agreed that the green and white ones were the best while the purple one was inedible. It was really sour! The Pizza Bread itself was flavourful enough, with pesto sauce and tomato sauce lightly covering the base. It made a good starter and quite a filling one, as well.

 

One thing I didn’t like about my experience there, though, was the service. As we placed our order, the waitress was efficient but failed to repeat our order. The place didn’t appear to be busy – it was barely a quarter filled – and yet she seemed to be in a hurry to clear our menus. Her not repeating our order turned out to have quite the consequences – JJJ’s order wasn’t taken and we waited about 45 minutes before enquiring with the manager, who immediately apologised profusely and fast-tracked the missed order. It arrived within minutes, which was great, but a mistake like that could’ve been easily prevented. Props to damage control, though.

 

All in all, I’m so thankful for friends who are willing to set them alarms and wake up earlier to spend our mornings together, with good food, laughter and quiet talks.

 

Outfit post here!

 

x

Let's Talk!

