Danzation 2014

[Ed: I know, this is severely overdue, but I spent so much time agonizing over this so… I just need it to exist. (: ]

 

Danzation 2014: rePLAY was a two-month long whirlwind of madness and adrenaline. It all started with auditions back in July…

dzn_0000_Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 1.03.29 pm.png

And then training started on 1 Sept! I remember spending my day before practice with the D4F people, thinking ‘this is the last hurrah, I wouldn’t be able to do this till after Danzation’s over’ but they stuck through with me, always cheering me on when they saw me in school or on social media.

dzn_0001_Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 1.03.45 pm.png

I spent some times with my classmates too, and it was really helpful to just let off steam once in a while with some good old girl time.

dzn_0002_Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 1.03.53 pm.png

School resumed on 20 October, and I was half-dead with fatigue by then. I love Burlesque, but it was just so tiring to have practice every night after a whole day of school.

 

Some surprising opportunities also helped with the stress – I found that photo shoots, although tiring, were more fun than I expected and I really enjoyed them.

dzn_0004_Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 1.04.20 pm.png

The very first THOR picnic lifted my spirits by miles and I still have wonderful memories from it.

dzn_0005_Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 1.04.28 pm.png

Meanwhile, Burlesque was improving by leaps and bounds, even though I didn’t know it at the time. I refused to believe that I was getting better and I was plagued with a constant sense of inadequacy. We all got along, but I only saw the stars I was dancing with, and put them on a pedestal. They are all such hardworking, inspiring dancers.

dzn_0006_Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 1.04.36 pm.png

Then, all too soon, it was full-day rehearsals at Kallang Theatre, and then SHOW DAY.

dzn_0007_Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 1.04.45 pm.png

Day 1 didn’t really feel like show day at all! It just felt like another full run. Then came Day 2…

dzn_0008_Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 1.05.05 pm.png

Tears were cried, gifts were presented, cards were written and sent… Everyone was emotional. For me, I had a very hard time coming to terms with the fact that it was going to be the last time we would be dancing together, as one, as Burlesque, on that stage, during Danzation, this year. It really hit me like a truck and I couldn’t help but cry when our choreographers talked to us before we went on stage for the last time. (Even though they urged us not to cry.) I loved being in Burlesque, and I was, still am, and will always be in love with it, with the experience and with the people I had the privilege to share the stage with.

 

x

Let's Talk!

