Gentle Bones EP Launch

Yun Rong and I went to Gentle Bones’ Debut EP Launch on Saturday, 30 August 2014, at TAB, 442 Orchard Road! (I feel like I should put that down explicitly for future reference.)

DSCN1006

I wore this:

image-3

T-shirt from the Gentle Bones Store;

Shorts from The Dude;

Sneakers from Converse.

 

My date for the night!!! YUN RONG. Who is beginning to be my concert buddy (apart from Ignite.). She went with me to Charlie Lim too!

image-1 image

Can you see the excitement on our (my) face(s)?!

DSCN1002

We got there at 6.35PM (?) but the queue had already formed!!! I panicked and thought we wouldn’t even be near the front ): Some of our juniors were ahead of us in the queue and there were about 50 (?) people between us in the 10 minutes that separated our arrival times! )):

We said hi to Josh Wei (the violinist), who was with some of their friends (I guess?) just standing outside the venue where we were queuing! Hehe.

The doors opened at 7PM. I watched the thing below as people started getting in and we neared the doors:

screen

That’s all. It was a loop and that was all the screen showed, haha! (I thought it was cool.)

 

We got in a waited a bit before Samantha Rui and Gareth Fernandez came on!

DSCN1014 DSCN1020 DSCN1021

She has a beautiful voice, I’d heard her sing before on Youtube and at NP! She reminds me of Colbie Caillat.

DSCN1036 DSCN1029 DSCN1034

Gareth was really… lively? Could tell he was really feeling the music and the crowd! His music is kinda Maroon 5-Sam Smith kinda vibe.

The main man Joel got on stage at around 8.30PM I think?

DSCN1042 DSCN1052 DSCN1046 DSCN1047

The show was electrifying. Now that it’s (technically) 2 days after the show, I’ve had a bit of time to process my thoughts about the whole thing. I basically went into it not knowing what to expect, and I was so blown away.

 

The arrangements of the songs (especially the cover of Ed Sheeran’s Give Me Love, dammit it’s better than the original, I swear to god), and the live versions of the songs from the EP and his youtube channel, they were all amazing and I don’t know if it’s just me (it probably is) and being fairly new to the whole live-show scene but everything was awesome.

 

Considering the fact that I’ve been watching this guy’s videos since years ago when he sang covers in his bedroom and his living room and then seeing him write songs and put them out and then the first single is amazing. I can’t believe I got to watch this guy literally go from his room to the stage. It’s so inspiring to see.

 

There were many funny moments throughout, which I thought was really good cause when Joel spoke it just felt really personal and it was pretty obvious he was having fun. Plus, his personality showed and he didn’t look very nervous, which was really impressive to me (I have horrible anxiety when it comes to showing people stuff I’ve done).

 

After the show, we waited outside for about half an hour? I have no idea. But there was a meet-and-greet/ autograph session!

DSCN1058

#hobolyfe

image-2

YAYYY. So cool seeing him again and poor thing, I wonder if he got hand cramps. There were seriously so many people waiting to meet him. I got home at 11.45PM and I think there were people still waiting!

 

All in all, I had a wonderful night.

 

x

Let's Talk!

